Posted by: L. E. Barnes | September 25, 2012

Monday Message

I don’t know about you, but I don’t give a hoot about watching political party conventions on TV. Long gone are the days of the “smoke-filled rooms” in which candidates were discussed and nominated. Not that I would like a return to those days, mind you. It’s just that nowadays, we have huge, elaborate, ultra-expensive affairs that amount to little more than pep rallies on steroids. And as Fr. Robert Barron discusses in the following video, the speeches you’ll here at them are simplistic, misleading rhetoric aimed more at churning up the audience’s emotions than generating any meaningful discussion of the candidates and issues.

 

Responses

  1. Father Barron made some great points here. I did not watch the conventions because I agree, there is too much rhetoric. And I am tired of it already! Thanks or the video.

    • He’s right on target. And like you, I’m sick of all this political mudslinging. I’ll be glad when election day finally passes.


Leave a Reply

Categories

