Posted by: L. E. Barnes | June 2, 2012

Sabbath Moments

Each week, Colleen Spiro hosts “Sabbath Moments” at her blog, “Thoughts on Grace.”  Join us as we share about the “little sabbaths” we enjoyed over the week, whether a sunset, a song, a visit from a friend, or some other simple yet refreshing moment.

On Sunday, my parents and I got to enjoy a wonderful afternoon with relatives, savoring good food (hamburgers, hot dogs, and other cookout victuals!) and good fellowship. We don’t get to see our kith and kin often, so it’s always great when we can have a little family reunion.

On Monday, we attended our town’s annual Memorial Day service at the town commons. Fortunately, the weather cooperated, giving us a pleasant sunny day. My father, who is a retired army chaplain and a member of the local Vietnam veterans group, delivered both the invocation and the benediction. I’m sure this observance always provides the attendees, especially our veterans, with a sabbath moment as we reflect on the blessings we enjoy as Americans and the bravery of those who have made it possible.

My parents and I watched the movie The Queen, which focuses on Queen Elizabeth in the days following the death of Princess Diana. I found it a poignant drama that helps you see what a “fish bowl” those royals have to live in. (And it makes me grateful for the privacy most of us are able to enjoy!)

This week I was informed that my hours at work were being increased, and my supervisor paid me a compliment about my work and their appreciation for me. Knowing that things are going well on job was certainly a “sabbath moment” for me, as my work life has had more ups and downs, twists and turns than I ever thought would be possible.

The other big news is that I had my first tae kwon do lessons this week. They wore me out, but I got through each one with a smile on my face, and it’s a great chance to get out and meet folks, in addition to getting in shape and learning some self-defense. (Though I’m not sure my poor muscles would agree it was a “sabbath moment”!)

I thought I’d share the following video I came across on YouTube. Not only does it showcase some fine violin playing, but I just love the songs (those of you familiar with the “Legend of Zelda” video games should recognize them readily.) Anyway, watching it was another “little sabbath” from the week:

May the coming week hold many “sabbath moments” for all of you as well!

Responses

  1. I’m not familiar with the Zelda games, but the violin playing in the video is great.

    So glad your job is working out and that you have a boss who appreciates your work. That is such a blessing since many people are out of work and many hate the jobs they have.

    • Thanks! I’m learning to count my blessings…

  2. That is great news about your job! Love cookouts!
    I agree with Barb about the video. That movie sounds good. I would not want that kid of life. I like my privacy too much and I need time and space to pray! And have sabbath moments!
    Thanks for joining us this week, Evan!

    • I thought it was time for me to rejoin the “Sabbath Moments” club! Thanks for hosting it!

  3. I’m not familiar with the Zelda games either, but that girl’s violin playing is fantastic! Thanks for sharing this video.

    Congratulations on your job news. So glad the job is working out for you!

    • Thanks!

  4. Your sabbath moments sound absolutely wonderful. Go you on the Tae Kwon Do!

    • Thanks! I’ll certainly give the tae kwon do all I’ve got!


Leave a Reply

Categories

