Posted by: L. E. Barnes | March 17, 2012

It’s Time for Spring, I Say!

Spring is nearly upon us, and nature is waking up from its long winter nap. I just thought I’d share this classic cartoon that celebrates the banishing of winter and the triumph of new life. I remember seeing it years ago when I was a child, and I recently rediscovered on YouTube. Entitled “To Spring,” it was produced by animation team Harman and Ising and released by Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer in 1936.

Apparently, Old Man Winter is like all too many people: he doesn’t know when to bow out gracefully and let others have their turn!

I just love that little guy singing, “It’s time for Spring! It’s time for Spring! It’s time for Spring, I say!” And our last-minute hero needs some serious help learning how to dress himself.

Fortunately for us, this past winter was extremely mild. And while I enjoy having four seasons, spring is always a welcome arrival. “It’s time for spring, I say!”

Responses

  1. Since I saw my first cartoon as a child I’ve always loved them. A real art form. And I agree with you – no matter how mild the winter, the lengthening of daylight in spring is very energizing. I’m ready for spring, too.

    • When viewing these old cartoons, we ought to keep in mind that they were made before the advent of computer-assisted drawing or animation, so everything had to be done by hand. I suspect that these are under-appreciated as an art form, and they certainly required a lot of imagination and artistic talent.

      May you have a wonderful spring!

  2. I love the animation style for this period. It’s so graceful. Thanks for sharing the clip.

    • Glad you liked it! And I agree that the animation from that time was very graceful–and they didn’t need today’s technology to produce excellent work!


Leave a Reply

Categories

