Posted by: L. E. Barnes | March 3, 2012

Sabbath Moments

We all need little “timeouts” during the week to be refreshed, to enjoy the small gifts God has given us, such as savoring a beautiful sunset or time spent in prayer. Each Saturday, fellow Catholic blogger Colleen Spiro hosts “Sabbath Moments” at her blog, “Thoughts on Grace.” Join us and read about others’ special moments from the week, or share your own!

Perhaps my biggest “Sabbath Moment” this week came from watching a video called More than Dreams. This docudrama shares the touching stories of several former Muslims who became Christians after Christ appeared to them in dreams and visions. The Lord certainly works in mysterious ways…

My parents and I did some short devotionals together this week, using either readings compiled in a book by Guideposts or from a publication called Our Daily Bread. Reflecting on God’s Word and spiritual lessons learned in the school of life–always a good way to top off the evening.

I took a few “timeouts” to indulge in playing some “escape” games online during the week. A way to get in touch with my inner child, I guess…

During my commute to and from work one day this week, I listened to a talk by Dr. Peter Kreeft, a respected Catholic philosophy professor, about suffering. One point in particular really stood out to me. After referring to Victor Frankl’s book Man’s Search for Meaning, Kreeft emphasized that finding meaning in suffering involves going beyond asking God “Why?” and instead seeing our suffering as an opportunity to ask ourselves how we’re going to respond to the problems we’re facing. A simple idea, yes, but it gave me pause and is helping me see my own circumstances in a different light.

We had some wonderful spring weather this week, with temperatures reaching the upper 70’s on Wednesday. Ah, early spring.

Responses

  1. Love your Sabbath Moments, Evan! I’m always interested in what you write. The info on the video about Muslim conversions is a good reminder that God has things in hand even if the mainstream media will never tell the real story. I guess for the PC people in the west, conversions of Muslims to Christianity is anathema.

    It’s also really neat to read about you and your parents doing spiritual reading together. And my hobby is Korean drama which I probably watch too much of but always learn something new. My excuse is that I have to challenge my brain because I’ve inherited some bad DNA that is likely to make me somewhat senile if I don’t fight it. But really, it’s fun to be able to identify the cultural influences of the past affecting Korean culture today, and how the Catholic Church is portrayed, which isn’t very accurate. However, the a-religious always seem to end up in a Catholic church when they’re in trouble and need God. Interesting it’s never a Buddhist temple.

    • The PC police wouldn’t like hearing about converting Muslims, but in those cases it’s Jesus Himself who did the converting, not Christian missionaries! So they’ll have to complain to Jesus about His evangelistic methods…

      I’ve never been into Korean dramas, but I’m interested in hearing about how the Koreans tend to view Christianity, especially the Catholic Church. (Strange that they have so many misconceptions, especially considering how Christianity has taken been flourishing in South Korea.)
      Thanks for commenting!

  2. Evan, love your list.
    I am going to have to check out that story about the Muslims. Love your comment about Jesus and his evangelistic methods. Amen!
    I love doing devotions, especially during Lent.
    Balance in life is important. I play a few games myself!
    Thanks for joining me in Sabbath Moments!

    • Thanks! And I’m glad to participate in the meme once again.

  3. The history of the Catholic Church in Korea is really interesting. It was actually started by laity (Confucian scholars who were a privileged class) who sent one of their members to China to learn about Catholicism (thank you Matthew Ricci, S.J.). The person converted, brought back the faith to Korea and baptized others. The first missionaries who arrived there were the French in the 1830s. Not long after, Korea saw great numbers of martyrs for the Faith. You can see the presence of the Church is fairly recent in Korea. About 10% of the South Korean population is Catholic. Nobody knows about North Korea because I believe it is forbidden to be Christian in North Korea. Catholics in South Korea expect the Church to play a fairly strong role in the eventual unification of the Korean peninsula. Some people believe it will happen by 2020. I’m not sure because the totalitarian communism and influence of China is so great. But God has his ways.

    • Interesting. I pray that the Church does play a role in the (peaceful) demise of communism and the reunification of Korea. Yes, God certainly has His ways!


Leave a Reply

Categories

