Posted by: L. E. Barnes | September 10, 2011

Sabbath Moments

After a long absence, it’s time for me to rejoin Sabbath Moments, a meme hosted by Colleen Spiro at her blog, “Thoughts on Grace.” Join us and read about our special moments from the week, those times of being refreshed in simple ways. Or share your own little sabbaths with us!

I’ve been working for a few weeks at a local insurance agency. This week my boss complimented me to one of the business’s owners–and doesn’t it always make your day when folks say good things about you? Having my performance praised was certainly a “sabbath moment” for me. (And as some of you know, my frustrations at not even being able to find work have been exasperating, so knowing that things are going well at this job have done a lot to lift my spirits.)

Some of our friends and relations have blessed my parents and me lately by providing us with some excellent meals while my mother recovers from the surgery on her wrist. We’ve enjoyed some chicken dinners and lasagna, among other things. Good food always makes for a great “sabbath moment,” right? 😉

According to the book of Proverbs, “a merry heart doeth good like a medicine.” So we spent yesterday evening getting our dose of laughter medicine by watching “America’s Funniest Videos” on TV. Watching the nutty antics of people and animals has to be proof positive that God indeed has a sense of humor!

And speaking of funny videos… I came across this one on YouTube this week, and it brought a big smile to my face. So I’ll share the smiles:

Too precious!

Responses

  1. This is adorable, Evan!! I’m going to show my daughter-she’ll love it!! These two babies are so expressive during their “conversation” 🙂 If you don’t mind I may “pinch” this one from you at some point. Just call me the good thief 🙂

    We watch America’s Funniest Home Videos over here all the time!

    Of course good food is a Sabbath Moment 🙂

    Mary
    (For some reason I have to comment through FaceBook on WordPress sites lately though I can’t figure out why.)

    • Those babies and their very animated ‘conversation’ are just too cute for words! You gotta love ’em!

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

  2. That video is too cute!! Makes me smile. Laughter is a sabbath moment isn’t it? And I agree about those meals. And your job!! Congrats! Hearing a compliment must have made you feel very good!
    Thanks for joining us in Sabbath Moments! Welcome back!

    • Thanks! And I’m very glad to rejoin the meme.

  3. Twins. Imagine that since you were conceived, this other person has been with you. Not like the rest of us.

    • Yes. Sometimes I wish I had a twin…

  4. I’m so glad you are having good news on the work front!

    • Thanks!

  5. Glad to see you posting funny videos again! Those chatting babies are so cute!

    • I know, they’re adorable! Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

  6. Congratulations not only on your job but on the fact that the boss is happy with you. It is indeed a Sabbath Moment. May you have many more.

    • Thanks. Many Sabbath Moments to you too!

  7. Evan, that is an adorable video…..ya just have to laugh!!. Hope your mom is doing better and I’m very VERY glad you have a job and it’s going well.

    Alleluia!

    Ebeth

    • Thank you! I hope things are well for you too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

