Posted by: L. E. Barnes | June 4, 2011

Sabbath Moments

Each Saturday, Colleen Spiro hosts “Sabbath Moments,” where she and others share about their special moments from the week. Join us and read about our little sabbaths, or even share your own with us.

On Memorial Day, my parents and I went to our town’s annual celebration of the men and women of our armed forces who gave their lives for our country. My father, a retired minister, delivered the invocation, and there were several speakers, a performance by a bagpiper, and a performance by a group of young Native American men, who chanted and played a large drum in honor of those who fought in the wars over the last century. Afterward, we went to my uncle and aunt’s home in a nearby town for a cookout. Food and family–two of life’s greatest pleasures! 🙂

Last night we watched the latest film adaptation of Gulliver’s Travels, which came out last year and starred Jack Black. It was a cute, entertaining spin on this beloved classic.

My parents and I had some good discussions this week about the scripture readings for the feast of the Ascension (which was Thursday) and this coming Sunday. For instance, we talked about what distinction, if any, there is in saying a person is baptized with the Holy Spirit as opposed to in or by the Holy Spirit. (Ok, perhaps it’s splitting hairs, but it makes food for thought.)

Responses

  1. Sounds like you had a great day on Memorial Day. My dad (RIP) served in WWII, as did my uncles. My husband was getting shot at in Cambodian jungles when we allegedly weren’t over there in the late 50s and early 60s. I’m proud of our fine military men and thank God for all of them from the Revolutionary War on. Sometimes I wonder if the necessity arose, how many young people today would take up arms to repel an enemy on our shores?

    • Yes, we should honor them all we can. And God bless the souls of those who gave their lives.
      My dad served in Korea and Vietnam, but I had relatives who served in WW2, including one who was at Pearl Harbor.

    • Well, we got an answer to that after 9/11. Not as many as did in previous generations.

  2. Your Memorial Day activities sound wonderful. Our little city has a parade but that’s about it. Listening to the bagpipes must have been awesome! We also had a cookout (at my parent’s house) and your remark about food and family is right on!
    Is the Gulliver’s Travels movie appropriate for children? The book is great but I don’t know the rating on the movie as far as kids go.
    God bless!

    • The movie is rated PG but should be ok for kids.
      Good food and family fellowship are always a blessing! Glad to hear you got some on Memorial Day too.

    • I wondered about G.T. too. Jack Black is one of those actors you just never know–some of it is brilliant, some of it is just gross. Like Adam Sandler.

  3. Your Memorial Day sounded so great! Sounds like your scripture discussions were very interesting! Thanks for joining in this meme, Evan!

  4. Hi – thanks for stopping by my site & leaving a nice comment. I see we’re both Catholic and both in the diocese of Raleigh. I live in Durham, a parishioner of St. Matthew, and the picture of the boarded up store was taken in Durham.
    Hope to “see you” soon again!
    NCSue
    PS – also, I have a page on my site that lists more than 250 hops, memes, and photo challenges… some for each day of the week. Check under the header for the link to that page. I’ve also just started a BlogFrog community that focuses on hops, carnivals, memes, and photo challenges. Go to http://theblogfrog.com/1504201 to visit & participate.
    http://acts17verse28.blogspot.com/

    • Glad to meet a fellow Tarheel Catholic! 🙂

      I’ll check out the links you supplied. Thanks for stopping by my site too!


Leave a Reply

Categories

