Posted by: L. E. Barnes | May 28, 2011

Sabbath Moments

We all need times when we just let go and enjoy the moment, letting ourselves recharge our mental, emotional and spiritual “batteries.” Each Saturday, Colleen Spiro hosts “Sabbath Moments,” where she and others share about their special times of refreshing from the week. Join us and tell us about your “little Sabbaths.”

This past Sunday our crop of new Catholics met and we discussed opportunities for them to grow in the Catholic faith, such as through scripture study groups and our parish’s Passionist lay associates. It’s good to see our “fledglings” happy about being in the Church and looking for ways to get closer to God and one another. And I’m glad for the chance to get to know them and make some contributions, however small, to their burgeoning faith. For instance, this week I was asked to give a talk to the class about the sacrament of baptism at our next meeting–an opportunity for which I am thankful.

I got a new laptop–my first laptop, actually–this week. Finally, I don’t have to be confined to the same small, windowless room for hours whenever I need to do work on my computer. And hey, getting a new “toy” is always fun, right? ๐Ÿ˜‰

Last night we watched Temple Grandin, a movie (based on a true story) about an autistic woman who had to battle the misunderstanding and mockery of others back in the 1960’s and 70’s when autism wasn’t widely known about or understood. Despite her difficulties, she went on to use her unique mental abilities to become an animal behavior expert. Very touching and inspiring!

Have a happy Memorial Day weekend!

Responses

  1. That movie sounds good.
    I have a laptop and wondered how I ever survived without it! Very convenient.
    You have a lot to offer that class because of your own experience. God bless you and your ministry!
    Thanks for joining me in this meme!

    • The laptop is proving a blessing. Not having to be confined to the same place is a great benefit. For a long time I resisted getting a laptop because they tended to cost more yet had less memory and storage space. But they’ve improved and the portability is wonderful.

      The movie was terrific. I heartily recommend it.

  2. Evan,
    It’s great that you can help the newcomers to the Catholic Faith in such a way! My husband is a convert to Catholicism and I don’t remember him having any classes after entering the church. You wrote about this Mystagogia (I have no clue if I spelled that right because last week was the first I ever heard of it) and I wonder why Randy didn’t go through this too.

    Congrats on the new laptop! I love the portability of them. We have both but I rarely use the laptop because it’s pretty old and doesn’t run as well as the pc. Enjoy!

    • Fortunately, I was able to get a really good deal on the laptop. The store I got it from was having a sale, so mine has a lot of memory and hard drive space. I’m sure I’ll never go back to desktop models.

      I’m surprised your parish didn’t have mystagogia for the new converts. I thought it was standard, but apparently it isn’t. How long ago did he come into the Church?

  3. Evan, you are so lucky to have the Passionists for your parish, lay or priest! From what you’ve written, I think your parish is the exception rather than the rule in it’s offerings for new Catholics.

    How do you and your parents find such really neat movies? I always enjoy reading about them, and time spent with parents is a most precious Sabbath Moment.

    • I get the movies thru Netflix. They have a good selection.

      And I’m glad we have Passionists at our parish. They’re highly dedicated and caring.

  4. I try to keep Grandin in mind when I dispair about my son’s chances in life.

    • ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Oh, that does sound like a good movie. We have Netflix, too. (How did we ever live before Netflix? ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

    • Yes, I remember the “old days” when we had to go to Blockbuster or some other store to rent a video. It looks like Netflix and Redbox have shut those down, however.


Leave a Reply

Categories

