Posted by: L. E. Barnes | May 21, 2011

Sabbath Moments

Every Saturday, Colleen Spiro hosts “Sabbath Moments” at her blog, “Thoughts on Grace.” She and others share their “little Sabbaths,” or refreshing experiences, that they had over the week. Please join us and tell us about your week’s special moments.

On Sunday our class of former catechumens met for Mystagogia, a period of instruction and reflection following reception into the Church at Easter. We enjoyed coffee and donuts while they shared about how they were coming along as new Catholics. It’s wonderful to get to know everyone and see them begin this new spiritual adventure.

On Tuesday my parents and I watched the movie Molokai: The Story of Father Damien. It tells the story of Belgian priest Father Damien, who went to work at a leper colony at a place called Molokai, located in the Hawaiian islands, in the late 1800’s. The movie does a splendid job of portraying the squalor, neglect, and mistreatment that the people exiled to that place had to endure. Leprosy (or Hansen’s Disease) was highly feared at the time, and those like Fr. Damien who went to work among lepers risked being treated like a leper themselves — and in fact, some of them did contract the disease. Such was the fate of Fr. Damien, who contracted leprosy in 1885 and died four years later, yet he never stopped working to help ease the people’s suffering as well as take care of their spiritual needs. Even my parents, who are not Catholic (and are not happy that I became Catholic), enjoyed watching the movie and commented on how inspiring it was. I definitely recommend it!

And then last night I got to escape from the real world by watching Tron (the original 1982 film, not the recent sequel). Though hokey by today’s standards, the computer animation was cutting edge at the time, and I still found it quite entertaining. I had seen the movie when I was a little boy back in the early 1980’s but had forgotten much of the storyline. Anyway, I love a good sci-fi flick, and though a secular film, it actually had some religious themes in it.

Responses

  1. I’ve never heard of Mystagogia, Evan. It’s nice to learn something new about my Faith 🙂

    Thanks for the movie recommendation – this one sounds really good! I think I saw Tron when I was a kid though, it sounds familiar. My husband and I are going to watch the movie “The Road” tonight. I don’t know if it will be any good but the book was a bestseller.

    Have a great weekend!

    • Yes, “Molokai” was a wonderful movie. I haven’t heard about “The Road.” Let me know if you like it!

  2. I saw that movie on Father Damien. Now Saint Damien. I agree that it was wonderful! He was so inspiring. I remember Mystagogia when I converted. It was a great opportunity to share our feelings and experiences. Thanks for joining in Sabbath Moments!

    • Glad you host it!

  3. In recent years I read an article about the last few lepers who lived on Molokai – what their lives were like, etc. Leprosy is a big problem in Africa along with AIDS and malaria. We need many more St. Damians.

    I’m glad your parish has follow ups for the converts. I think it’s really important because many people fall away from the Church after joining. God bless your parents and I hope they will someday enjoy the spiritual joy you have embraced in the Church.

    I think of you often during the week and hope that all is going well for you.

    • Fr. Damien and others like him are truly saints. To work in such squalid conditions and be confronted daily with terrible suffering certainly takes heroic virtue.

      We only have two more mystagogia sessions, and then we release our new group of “fledglings” from the nest. I pray they continue growing in the faith and remain in the Church.

      Thanks for your concern. I certainly need all the prayer support I can get right now!

  4. Tron had lots of religious overtones. Have you seen the “Legacy” movie? It was really quite enjoyable, except for the 3D thing…but I think you can get the video now w/o that annoyance.

    • Yes, I watched Tron: Legacy last night, in fact. So I got the original and the sequel back to back! We didn’t watch it in 3D, but I enjoyed it a lot.


Leave a Reply

Categories

