Posted by: L. E. Barnes | March 16, 2011

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

Yes, it’s that time of year again. Time for the wearing o’ the green, shamrocks, green beer, leprechauns, and all other things Irish. But what is this day really all about? Who was this St. Patrick, and what did he have to do with Ireland? Here’s a cute video that shares about the man for whom this holiday is named:

Now take a moment to listen as Angelina sings “St. Patrick’s Breastplate”:

And as a final tribute to all things Irish, here’s a touching rendition of “Danny Boy” (done as only the Muppets could do!):

But seriously…

Have a blessed St. Patrick’s Day. May you not only enjoy all the fun this holiday engenders, but may you be inspired by the life of the man whom this day celebrates.

Responses

  1. We can always count on you to find great videos to make us smile and teach us something. I hope you had a great St. Patrick’s Day.

    • Glad these brought a smile to your face. St. Patrick’s Day was uneventful for me. How about you?

  2. Guess I need to go to the Irish Italian parade tomorrow and celebrate the two saints of the week!

    • Do you mean St. Joseph?

  3. Evan, I put on my blue/green muumuu and went to the therapy pool. Then Roger and I ran some errands. It wasn’t very eventful but it was peaceful. When we were kids, the custom was that if anyone at school forgot to wear green on St. Paddy’s day, he or she could be pinched. I don’t like to be pinched so I always remembered to wear something green!

    • Oh yes… I remember the dreaded St. Patrick’s Day pinching!! And I think I forgot to wear green a few times, so like you, I try to remember to wear green.

  4. Wonderful videos as usual, Evan. Thanks. 🙂

    • You’re welcome! Thanks for stopping by.


Leave a Reply

Categories

