Posted by: L. E. Barnes | March 5, 2011

Sabbath Moments

We all need time to recharge our physical, mental, and spiritual batteries. That is what Sabbath moments are for–special times during the week when we just stop to savor the little pleasures all around us that allow us to be refreshed. Each Saturday, Colleen Spiro hosts “Sabbath Moments,” where you can read about others’ “little Sabbaths” or even share your own.

This past week I read some fantasy stories and poems by Jane Yolen, including a wonderful collection in a book of hers called Here There Be Unicorns. I’ve always enjoyed fantasy literature, and have an interest in writing fantasy as well, so getting to sit back and enjoy some stories by such a skilled writer proved quite soothing.

My parents and I watched a DVD about the Apostle Paul as well as some early Christian martyrs, which was both inspiring and informative. We need reminders of what many Christians who came before us had to endure for the sake of Christ, lest we become too, well, spoiled. It was pointed out during the film that in the Church’s early years, persecution actually tended to make the it thrive rather than shrink. (Which makes me wonder why mere secularism and financial prosperity have led to Christianity’s severe decline in western Europe, when even the most brutal persecution tended to produce the opposite effect…)

A few nights we would sit together and watch TV, and I would work on my knitting. I finally finished a shawl for my mother–which turned out to be a very long project! Anyway, it always feels good to complete something.

Over the week I’ve struggled with frustrations over my job situation (or rather, my “lack-of-job” situation). This song that I came across on YouTube helped soothe me one night, so I’ll share it with you:

Responses

  1. I love this song, Evan! I sing it a lot when I’m cleaning (errr, when nobody’s around that is)!

    I don’t really know how to knit but I’d like to learn. People always tell me how relaxed knitting makes them feel. And you know what? I think they LOOK peaceful doing it.

    • Knitting is enjoyable. The main reason I opted for this hobby is that it lets me spend time with others while working on something at the same time. And I always enjoy the sense of accomplishment that comes from creating something others can use.

  2. Evan, I have always loved that song. Thanks for finding a video of it. I used to knit when I was much younger, but was quite impatient with it. I liked crocheting better. I imagine that it is a wonderful way to pray – creating and working with your hands.
    That DVD sounded very good! God bless!

    • The song is wonderful. And that young lady is a wonderful singer!

      I’ve never tried crocheting, but I’m sure it provides much the same enjoyment as knitting. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Jane Yolen must be the most versatile writer around. I’ll be checking that out. Thanks, and I hope your job search bears abundant fruit!

    • Thanks! 🙂 And I wish the same for you!

  4. Evan, I’m still praying for you to get a job. I’m sure God has something in mind for you. The test is in being patient.

    I just listed my services as an editor and proofer on Craigslist, and also for tutoring in English. I hope I get some takers.

    • Thanks, Barb. And I pray your ad brings you some business!


Leave a Reply

Categories

