Posted by: L. E. Barnes | December 28, 2010

Dreaming of a White… Day AFTER Christmas

Snowy Sidewalk

 If you’re like me (and most other people), you dream of having a white Christmas. Well, the snow came a day late for us here in eastern North Carolina. Around midnight on Saturday, Dec. 25, it began snowing. The snow continued all through the following day, with total accumulations reaching about 7 or 8 inches in my area–and for this part of the state, that’s a lot of snow! (And we didn’t even have to call on the Tiki Snow Dancers!) Oh well, better late than never. And actually, if it had snowed on Christmas day, my parents and I would have been stuck at home rather than getting to enjoy spending time with family in a nearby town, so I guess Mother Nature decided that delayed gratification would be in our best interests. Anyway, here are some images of our lovely snow day.

Here’s one of our cars, looking dejected under several inches of snow:

Hey, could someone defrost me, please?

Thankfully we didn’t have a bunch of ice, otherwise the trees would have had limbs breaking off rather than just sagging:

The trees bore their snowy burden bravely.

My mother, ever the animal lover, tried to make sure our fine feathered friends had something to eat on this wintry day:

Birds scour the cold ground for seed. And I doubt they'll be using those bird baths!

The view from our back patio.

One of our holly trees, displaying her winter finery.

I don’t know about you, but I think Mother Nature can provide better Christmas decorations than any store can:

The front of our house, all decked out in snow and icicles.

Our snow-clad house at sunset.

I hope your Christmas was merry and memorable! Did any of you get buried in white stuff like we did?

Responses

  1. Like your pics, Evan. Yes it was a true delight to have snow at Christmas, as I d*&^mn yankee, I do miss the white stuff to get into the holiday spirit. However, I have found that since knowing and believing in the true season’s purpose, getting into that frame of mind isn’t hard anymore.

    Glad you stopped by the “Pillars” today, I do appreciate your input, you make lots of sense!

    Christmas blessings!

    • Glad you liked the pics. I decided to snap a few on my digital camera before our winter wonderland melted away. After living in Indiana, I at first didn’t care to see snow again, but now I like getting a little of the white stuff once in a while.

      Thanks for the compliment. It’s good to hear that I can actually make sense occasionally! 😉

      Christmas blessings to you and your family too!

      Evan

  2. Evan, I really, really, really like the sunset picture. Glad you enjoyed the snow. We don’t have any and spent a few days in Dallas over the holidays where there was no snow either. Happy New Year!

    • Thanks, Barb. As I said in my post, this much snow is quite unusual for our area. In fact, over the past decade, we had a few winters with no snow at all. Now things seem to be flipping around and we’re getting colder than usual temperatures and, yes, more of the white stuff. In fact, last winter it actually snowed five times. It’s already snowed 3 times just this month, so we may very well be in for more.

      Happy New Year to you too! 🙂

  3. Beautiful pictures. Being in Louisiana, we don’t dream of white Christmases. In 45 years, I’ve never had one. But it is beautiful when the white stuff blankets other people! Looks quite peaceful. I love the pictures with the icicles – nature’s decorations.

    • Icicles definitely make lovely “decorations” on our gutters and eaves. But they’re gone now, as is nearly all of the snow.

  4. Brrrrrrrrrrrrrrr but lovely!

    We did get snow earlier in the week. Christmas was sunny and cold. It’s fun to bundle up and thank God for the warm hearts around you.

    • Snow is certainly very “brrrrrrrr but lovely”, as you put it. 🙂
      Yes, those warm hearts around us are a necessity!


Leave a Reply

Categories

