Posted by: L. E. Barnes | November 27, 2010

Sabbath Moments

We all need moments when we just stop to savor the small pleasures in life. Fellow Catholic blogger Colleen Spiro refers to these as ‘sabbath moments,’ and each week she hosts a meme by that name at her blog, “Thoughts on Grace.” Join us and read about our special moments from the week, or share your own!

My main sabbath moment from this week was getting to spend Thanksgiving with family. We all loaded up on turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes, pumpkin pie, etc.–all the stuff that makes up a traditional Thanksgiving feast. Plus it was great to see folks I only get to visit with once in a blue moon. What more can you ask for on Thanksgiving? 🙂

Last night my parents and I watched A Boy Named Charlie Brown. I knitted a dishcloth while enjoying the antics of the good old Peanuts gang–and while of course sympathizing with poor old Charlie Brown. As the movie’s theme song says, “We’re all a boy named Charlie Brown”. I don’t know about you, but I just can’t help loving that little guy! 😉  Charles Schulz created such a lovable cast of characters…

Here are the lyrics:

Like the shadows of the morning,
'climb up to the August afternoon.
Charlie has a way,
Of picking up the day,
Just by walking slowly in a room.

Maybe it's a kind of magic
That only little boys can do.
But seeing Charlie smile,
Can make you stop awhile,
And get you feelin' glad you're you.

He's only a boy named Charlie,
A Boy Named Charlie Brown.
He's just the kid next door,
Perhaps a little more,
He's every kid in every town.

Well the world is full of lots of people,
Here and there and all around.
But people after all,
Start out as being small,
We're all A Boy Named Charlie Brown.
Responses

  1. So happy for you that you had such a great Thanksgiving. And I enjoy the picture of you knitting a dishcloth while enjoy Charlie Brown with your parents. these are moments you will look back on someday with great pleasure.

    • Thanks, Barb. Yes, little things like that help make life enjoyable.

  2. Okay, Evan, I admit it – I still like Charlie Brown, kid’s movies, kid’s games, Frosty, Rudolph, The Grinch, Santa Clause is coming to town, etc… I’m a little kid in a big person’s body. But lets keep it to ourselves, okay? When my grandmother was 78 she told me she still felt like a little kid inside too, so it must run in the family 😉 She liked Peanuts, too. I often wonder when I am going to feel “grown up” but it hasn’t happened yet and I suspect it never will (lol)! And I’m laughing but I’m not joking! So yes – I love that little guy because I am that little guy and I still trip over the world as I walk through it. Glad you had a great Thanksgiving, Evan!

    • I know just what you mean. Will I ever grow up? Not so sure…
      Have a blessed weekend!

  3. I mixed up The Santa Clause with Santa Claus (hee!hee!)!

    • LOL! That’s ok. It’s easy to do.

  4. I still love Charlie Brown, too. The Christmas one is my favorite and I love the part when Linus recites part of the scripture about the angels appearing to the shepherds!
    Glad you had a nice Thanksgiving. Thanks for joining me every week! God bless!

    • I love the Charlie Brown Christmas special too, especially when Linus recites the passage from Luke 2. I’m glad you had an enjoyable Thanksgiving as well.

  5. […] My posts from the past week included some remarks about the Trinity by Fr. Robert Barron, a couple of Thanksgiving songs, a humorous Coke ad, some discussion of the Pope’s remarks regarding condoms, and my week’s ”sabbath moments“ […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

