Posted by: L. E. Barnes | November 20, 2010

Sabbath Moments

We all need moments to pause and enjoy the small pleasures all around us that the Lord has given us to enjoy. Sometimes just stopping to notice the sunset, a child playing, or the smell of some flowers can help refresh us. Each Saturday, fellow Catholic blogger Colleen Spiro hosts “Sabbath Moments,” where she and others share about their special moments from the week.

A couple of days ago I went out to get the mail and as I was heading back up the sidewalk into the house, I paused to just savor the cool air, the yellow and orange foliage of the nearby trees across the street, and the colors of the evening sky. I spend so much time cooped up indoors that I’ve nearly forgotten what it’s like to enjoy nature, so that moment helped remind me!

I’ve been on some medication to help keep my chronic anxiety and tension under control, and taking it has allowed me to start experiencing life again without feeling like a nervous wreck 24/7/365. It’s just hit me lately how different I feel. (That might not sound like much of a “sabbath moment,” but for a person like me who’s lived with a severe emotional disorder that has kept me trapped inside my own mind for years, it’s a relief beyond what words can describe!)

One of the columnists for our local paper shared in his weekly article a poem written years ago by his (now deceased) father, who had been a Protestant minister. It’s simple but poignant, so I’ll pass it along:

The snow is gently falling

Like the silent breath of God

Covering once again the scars

Made where man has trod

To me, it is a picture

Of his love erasing sin

Forgiveness of the guilty heart

Leaving peace within

And when the winter winds have ceased

Life will spring anew

A picture of new life and hope

He offers me and you

–Wiley I. Rutledge

Responses

  1. A lovely poem. I’m glad the new medication is working for you. Many’s the time when I got to feeling better, such as when the doctor replaced my hips, I was astonished at how bad I had really felt and how much better I felt after proper medical help.

    We get used to coping and don’t realize how far down we’ve gotten. Then we are amazed at our capacity to enjoy the beauty and lovingness of God when we feel better – you might say, experiencing the “lighter side” of God. No matter how bad the suffering is, I know I’m finding Him in it, but it sure is great to have a break from it in favor of something good and simple.

    God bless you and thanks for visiting my site.

    • Thanks, Barb. I know exactly what you’re talking about!

  2. These are wonderful Sabbath Moments. The poem was awesome. And feeling better when you are used to feeling anxious is the best Sabbath Moment of all, Evan. I’m very glad the medication is helping you. When I was in my twenties and early thirties I used to have terrible panic attacks and anxiety so I can relate a bit. I haven’t had a panic attack in years, thankfully. They are frightening. I’ll keep you in my prayers, Evan 🙂

    • Getting relief from the constant tension is certainly a “sabbath moment”! And it’s a “sabbath moment” I hope to continue enjoying. Thanks for your prayers.

  3. Love the poem. Love the sabbath moments. And I agree with Mary, feeling better finally and realizing it – that is a great sabbath moment. Being “hit” with that realization is like being surprised by God. I am so glad you are feeling better! God bless! And thanks for joining me every week!

    • I’m glad you enjoyed the poem too. It is very lovely. Thanks for having “Sabbath Moments” every week!

  4. I had crippling anxiety for several years, mostly about whether or not I should get married. It didn’t occur to me that I should go for help. I’m glad that you have done so. And it most definitely *is* a Sabbath moment. I remember going out to nature and sitting by the side of the Cedar River in Iowa, and the simple absence of fear was such a gift. Don’t ever discount it.

    • I understand how you feel. I’ve lived with nonstop tension/fear/worry for so long that I’ve really forgotten what it’s like to feel, well, normal. Actually being able to feel calm again is an incredible gift. I certainly can’t take it for granted ever again.


Leave a Reply

Categories

