Posted by: L. E. Barnes | November 6, 2010

Sabbath Moments

We all need moments in which we are refreshed and when we can just pause to enjoy being alive. Each Saturday, Colleen Spiro hosts “Sabbath Moments,” where she and others share about their special experiencs from the week. Join us to read about our moments of renewal, or share your own!

This past Sunday my parents and I got to spend the afternoon and evening with relatives in a nearby town–something we don’t get to do too often. We got to load up on food and some fellowship. And getting out of the house helps keep me from getting cabin fever during this period of being “between jobs”.

The other night my parents and I watched the comedy Nacho Libre, about a Catholic monk (played by Jack Black) who enters the world of “luchadores” (wrestlers) to make money for the orphange where he lives and works. It’s a pretty wacky story, but hey, it’s always good to get some laughs, and I certainly was in the need for some humor to help me relax that night. (Yes,Β a bunch of my “Sabbath Moments” posts have been about taking a timeout to enjoy a movie. Thank Netflix for that! After all, a little escape from the real world is good now and then.)

Yet another Halloween is behind us, so it’s time to turn our thoughts to Thanksgiving! Here’s a cute little video to help get you in the Turkey Day mood–and to remind you to keep an eye on your pumpkin pie! πŸ™‚

Responses

  1. I saw “Nacho Libre” some years ago and enjoyed the wackiness of it. Wacky is good for endorphin generation. The turkey video is clever – another wacky pleasure. I wonder what kind of humor we will have in heaven.

    • Good question! Surely there will be humor, in some form or another, in heaven or it would be a dreary place. And I really think that God has a sense of humor. He made us, after all….

  2. It is always so healing to laugh. Thanks for joining me in this meme, Evan!

  3. […] Sabbath Moments […]

  4. Funny video! The poor cat’s gonna have to live in the doghouse for a while πŸ™‚ I like your crack about God’s sense of humor!

    • Yes, I feel sorry for the poor kitty. He’s being framed! πŸ˜‰

      So don’t leave your pumpkin pie unguarded this Thanksgiving. You never know when some cardboard/paper turkies might be looking for a chance to eat it up!

  5. This is why I love your blog! You post the cutest and/or funniest videos that keep me laughing or smiling! πŸ™‚

    I never saw Nacho Libre but I’ll have to check it out.

    • Thanks! I’m always glad to make people smile.

  6. Thanks for sharing your “wacky” Sabbath Moments with us Evan!


Leave a Reply

Categories

