Posted by: L. E. Barnes | October 23, 2010

Sabbath Moments

We all need moments when we get our mental, physical, and spiritual batteries recharged–what fellow Catholic blogger Colleen Spiro calls “Sabbath Moments“. Join us each week as we share about our Sabbath moments from the week.

As I’m still between jobs, I’ve had some time to cool off and reflect on things, which I’ve probably needed for a long time–especially as I endeavor to get stabilized emotionally. Each morning I take some time to do deep breathing, meditate, and (on some days) pray the rosary. My mind wants to wander all over the place, so staying focues on those things can be quite challenging, but doing them, however imperfectly, helps nonetheless.

I got to enjoy a couple of movies this week. The first one, Flags of our Fathers, is a touching film that focuses on the men who were photographed raising the flag on Iwo Jima in 1945. (By the way, in case you didn’t know, 3 of those 6 men were killed in combat shortly after the photo was taken, and one of them–a Native American–descended into alcohol and despair after the war, eventually dying of exposure after getting drunk one night.) Then last night my parents and I watched Disney’s The Princess and the Frog for some light and funny entertainment.

And I’ll give a bit of insight by Charles Swindoll that if taken to heart would probably help all of us experience more “Sabbath moments” as we go about our lives:

“The longer I live, the more I realize the impact of attitude on life. Attitude, to me, is more important than facts. It is more important than the past, than education, than money, than circumstances, than failure, than successes, than what other people think or say or do. It is more important than appearance, giftedness or skill. It will make or break a company… a church… a home. The remarkable thing is we have a choice everyday regarding the attitude we will embrace for that day. We cannot change our past… we cannot change the fact that people will act in a certain way. We cannot change the inevitable. The only thing we can do is play on the one string we have, and that is our attitude. I am convinced that life is 10% what happens to me and 90% of how I react to it. And so it is with you… we are in charge of our Attitudes.”
Responses

  1. I love that quote! Very good reminder for me!
    I saw Flags of our Fathers. Very good.
    Merton said if we do not have distractions when we pray, then we don’t know how to pray.
    Thanks for joining me each week! God bless!

    • Well, Merton’s remark gives me hope! In fact, if distractions are a sign that you know how to pray, then perhaps I know too much about praying! 😉

  2. Thanks for sharing the thoughts of Chuck Swindoll…he’s a wise man. Would you recommend Flags of Our Fathers for teens (14 and 15?)

    • I think the movie is ok for teenagers, but not children. It doesn’t have vulgarity, but some of the battle scenes are pretty intense and gory. Of course, that may be good for young people to see, since so many films have gratuitous violence. This one helps show war as it really is, as well as its often terrible aftermath for those who survive it.

  3. The war in the Pacific is a hobby of mine. I don’t remember seeing that film, but it sounds like it would be good.

    Swindoll’s quote is great and so true. The AA program has a phrase called “stinkin’ thinkin'” – one I’ve always favored when considering bad attitudes.

    I hope you get a job soon. Unemployment is a lot higher than the official numbers. I’m still praying for you in your search. God must be getting one super job ready for you since it’s taking so long! And He’s getting you ready for it right now.

    • The movie is based on the book by James Bradley, whose father was one of the men in the famous Iwo Jima photo. (I haven’t read the book, by the way, but the film is worth seeing, especially if you are interested in WW 2.)

      Thanks for the encouraging words. I’m trying to pursue writing, though so far I haven’t located writing jobs that I can do full time.

      I appreciate your prayers. God bless!

  4. […] Sabbath Moments […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

