Posted by: L. E. Barnes | October 2, 2010

Sabbath Moments

Colleen Spiro hosts “Sabbath Moments” each Saturday at “Thoughts on Grace.” Read about others’ special moments from the week or share your own!

This week I got to have coffee with a friend I don’t get to see often. He and I have gone through many of the same, well, issues, so we understand each other and are able to encourage ourselves. A little Starbucks coffee (overpriced, yes, but I had a gift card!) and some fellowship can really boost your spirits!

On Thursday my dad and I watched The Mummy 3, the latest (and, I suspect, the last!) installment of Brendan Fraser’s movies in which he fights the supernatural. It got corny at times (obviously done as comic relief) but was entertaining. Always good to escape reality for a while. 🙂

And in case you weren’t aware, it’s the 60th annivery of the comic strip “Peanuts.” A big thanks to Charles Schulz (may he rest in peace) for providing us with Charlie Brown, Linus, Snoopy, and a cast of other memorable characters that have been bringing us smiles for the past 6 decades! A couple of weeks ago, I noted on my “Sabbath Moments” post that while praying the Joyful Mysteries of the rosary, I immediately thought of the scene from the Charlie Brown Christmas cartoon in which Linus gets on stage and explains the meaning of Christmas–by reciting from Luke 2. For some reason, thinking of that just about brought tears to my eyes. 🙂  

And with Halloween approaching, how can we forget Linus’s obsession with “the Great Pumpkin”?

Poor Linus! So let that be a lesson to us all: Never cheat a woman out of “tricks-and-treats.”

Yes, Mr. Schulz provided a lot of “Sabbath Moments” with his lovable comic strip.

Responses

  1. I love Peanuts! I was raised on this stuff! The other week I picked up a Snoopy t-shirt for my daughter. I just couldn’t resist. The Christmas episode is my favorite 🙂

    • Peanuts are great. Charles Schulz had a rare talent!

  2. How sweet 🙂
    Glad you had that special time with your Dad too:)

  3. […] Sabbath Moments […]

  4. As you mentioned on my post, time with a friend can really lift our spirits! What a gift!
    And thanks for the reminder of Peanuts! Such wonderful memories of watching these with my children (and even now I love them, watching from my empty nest!

  5. Like Jim Henson, Schulz was a rare talent. Bringing all that is true and decent into entertainment seems to be a lost art these days. I can see why these clips brought a tear to your eyes.

    • Yes, Schulz certainly had a talent that most comic strip creators don’t have, just as Henson did wonders with his muppets. Both brought clean and humorous entertainment. We could use more like them!


Leave a Reply

Categories

