Posted by: L. E. Barnes | September 25, 2010

Sabbath Moments

Every Saturday, Colleen Spiro hosts “Sabbath Moments” at her blog, “Thoughts on Grace.” Read about others’ special refreshing moments that they had over the week, or share your own.

As for my own sabbath moments this week… I had a job interview yesterday for a position at a local technical school. Granted, going to a job interview might not sound like a sabbath moment, but for a person between jobs such as yours truly, it is refreshing to get a glimmer of hope in the job search. Also, last night I went to Raleigh with some friends for a symphony, where we heard some Schubert, Mahler, and Beethoven. A guest violinist and guest cellist were part of the orchestra, and their playing was absolutely heavenly. I’ll admit that I had some difficulty concentrating–in part because I have some difficulty concentrating in general, but also because staying focused during such long musical pieces is kind of hard. But I’m very glad to have gone. I’ve been getting some cabin fever during my period of unemployment, and I haven’t been to a symphony since… I’m not sure when! Actually, probably not since I was in elementary schooll. Too long…

And may your actual sabbath–this Sunday–be a time of spiritual, mental, and physical refreshment.

Responses

  1. I agree that going for a job interview can be a sabbath moment. A moment of hope.
    And the symphony! What a beautiful way to experience God! God bless!

    • Thanks, Colleen! God bless you too. 🙂

  2. Praying the Lord will lead you to new employment soon. Glad to have shared your Sabbath Moments this week…the symphony sounds INDEED heavenly!

    • Thank you!

  3. How lovely to hear Schubert, Mahler, and Beethoven all in one night, live. Beautiful music soothes the spirit and there is something special about being there in person to hear it.

    Glad you had an interview. I’m looking forward to some kind of celebration when you once again get employed.

    • Yes, I really should have a celebration–both for my blogging friends and my face-to-face ones. Hmmm… how can I host a party online for us? 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

