Posted by: L. E. Barnes | September 11, 2010

Sabbath Moments

Each Saturday, Colleen Spiro hosts “Sabbath Moments” at her blog, “Thoughts on Grace.” There she and others share their moments of rest or spiritual refreshment from the week.

My sabbath moments this week? Being between jobs, I’ve enjoyed getting time to read and write. Ialso  managed to get a couple of “fact sheets” completed (I’ve being doing some content writing for extra cash), one of which got high praise from the copy editor who approved it–hey, it always feels good to have one’s work praised, right?

As I was praying the rosary late this morning, I experienced a poignant moment when I came to the third joyful mystery, the Nativity. Today as I reflected on it, I found myself thinking of the scene from the old 1960’s Charlie Brown Christmas special in which Linus gets on the stage and recites the verses from Luke 2 in which the angels appear to the shepherds. Perhaps I’m just overly sentimental, but as that scene came to mind, I felt my eyes tearing up. Here I am, a 35-year-old man, yet that scene nearly moves me to tears. 🙂

Responses

  1. Evan, I don’t think you are overly sentimental at all. We are blessed to be moved to tears by the Incarnation. It is God’s way of strengthening us against sin. Who, comprehending even a little of this sign of God’s love, can sin deliberately?

    Glad you got a little contract work. I’d like to try content writing, but I don’t know how to get the work. Considering I am disabled and can’t work full time, writing is one of the few things I could do. Would you email me with some advice?

    I always enjoy reading your posts.

    • Barb,
      Thanks for your kind words. The incarnation is such a wonder to reflect upon–my mind can scarcely comprehend it.

      I’ve done some content writing through Demand Studios, which lets you select topics to write about, and your work will then be posted on various informational websites, such as Livestrong, eHow, and others. Just go to demandstudios.com to apply.

      Evan

  2. Evan,
    If you get 2 comments from me just ignore the other one! I seem to be losing comments in midair lately.
    I always tell my daughter that tears are good for the soul. As for Charlie Brown, I was always touched by that poor, bedraggled tree he chose. (I seem to always root for the underdog.) At the end, the tree is transformed by love just like we are.

    • Thanks, Mary. I always had a lot of sympathy for poor old Charlie Brown. And you’re right: love was all that little tree needed!

  3. I have always loved that moment in the Charlie Brown Christmas show too! One of my favorite moments! I always get goosebumps!

    • Seems I’m not the only one who found that scene especially poignant. I’ve heard that when that cartoon first aired, the network that ran it got a lot of calls from folks expressing their appreciation for Linus’s explaining to Charlie Brown what the true meaning of Christmas was.

  4. […] Sabbath Moments […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

