Posted by: L. E. Barnes | August 7, 2010

Sabbath Moments

Each week Colleen Spiro hosts Sabbath Moments on her blog, “Thoughts on Grace.” Read about her and other bloggers’ special moments, or share your own!

Yesterday as I prayed the rosary, meditating on the sorrowful mysteries, I felt touched by the Lord in a way I haven’t experienced for a while. Thinking about Christ’s suffering for us made me pause, almost tremble. It is our Lord’s passion that separates Christianity from other faiths–God didn’t just give a message to a prophet to be passed along to humanity, but God became on of us and entered our suffering. I therefore love the charism of the Passionsists, which is to emphasize the Passion as the ultimate sign of God’s love for us.

And I always enjoy good literature. Here’s a short piece by Lebanese author and artist Kahlil Gibran:

THE SAINT

In my youth I once visited a saint in his silent grove beyond the hills; and as we were conversing upon the nature of virtue a brigand came limping wearily up the ridge. When he reached the grove he knelt down before the saint and said, “O saint, I would be comforted! My sins are heavy upon me.”
And the saint replied, “My sins, too, are heavy upon me.”
And the brigand said, “But I am a thief and a plunderer.”
And the saint replied, “I too am a thief and a plunderer.”
And the brigand said, “But I am a murderer, and the blood of many men cries in my ears.”
And the saint replied, ” I am a murderer, and in my ears cries the blood of many men.”
And the brigand said, “I have committed countless crimes.”
And the saint replied, “I too have committed crimes without number.”
Then the brigand stood up and gazed at the saint, and there was a strange look in his eyes. And when he left us he went skipping down the hill.
And I turned to the saint and said, “Wherefore did you accuse yourself of uncommitted crimes? See you not this man went away no longer believing in you?”
And the saint answered, “It is true he no longer believes in me. But he went away much comforted.”
At that moment we heard the brigand singing in the distance, and the echo of his song filled the valley with gladness.

Responses

  1. “The Saint” was beautiful. Had not read that before.
    I love your Sabbath moment. Interesting how we can pray the same words so many times but suddenly we experience something different. I love how you said it made your pause. That is a great example of what sabbath moments are all about – pausing and being with God. God bless!

    • Colleen,
      Yes, it’s a mystery as to why certain things that have become familiar, perhaps even routine, can suddenly stand out in a fresh way.

      By the way, every time I try to leave a comment on your blog, I get some kind of error message. I don’t know what to do about it, but that’s why I haven’t posted comments on your site in a while. 😦

  2. As you showed in your post, when we move our hearts towards God, He showers us with His grace. The rosary is such a great prayer because we inevitably grow spiritually if we put our hearts into it. For me, the times when God presents ideas and understanding to us when we are praying the rosary more than makes up for all the times when I am afflicted with dryness. I am so glad you wrote this.
    And somewhere around the house I have some of Gibran’s works. That was a good story about kindness and humility.

    • Thanks for your comments. As a new Catholic, I’m still learning the blessings of praying the rosary.

      Gibran had a rare talent. His writing is always very poignant and artful.

  3. […] Sabbath Moments […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

