Posted by: L. E. Barnes | August 5, 2010

Therapy or Meds: Anxiety Treatment Options

The following videos, produced by AnswerTV, provide information about treatment options for those who suffer from an anxiety disorder.

I’ve experimented with both CBT and medication. CBT for me has been in the form of self-help materials, such as The Anxiety & Phobia Workbook (by Dr. Edmund J. Bourne) and the Attacking Anxiety and Depression program (produced by the Midwest Center for Stress and Anxiety). I’ve found their information to be accurate and helpful, though I have to admit I’ve done a poor job of following their regimen very consistently. For about a year I took the drug Paxil, but it was only somewhat effective, and then only for a few months. (Frankly, I feel that I just wasted my money on the stuff.)  Since I haven’t tried any other medications, I can’t say anything about their efficacy. St. John’s wort and SAM-e have also provided some relief, though the latter (which I haven’t taken for some time) caused me some terrible gastrointestinal bloating and discomfort. I have considered trying medication again–something besides Paxil, that is. And I need to buckle down and commit to following a consistent program of CBT.

Any feedback–including suggestions and personal experiences–is always welcome!


Responses

  1. Therapy or Meds: Anxiety Treatment Options « Evan's Cove…

    I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Anxiety Help, Edward Murwanthi. Edward Murwanthi said: Therapy or Meds: Anxiety Treatment Options « Evan's Cove http://bit.ly/aHzPdH […]

  3. […] Therapy or Meds: Anxiety Treatment Options […]

  4. Try a good natural health doctor. I did when I thought I had nothing to lose and it proved a turning point for me. Also, keeping a solid focus on spiritual development and developing good habits like praying the rosary at the same time each day, reading a life of the saint for the day and taking proper supplements at the same time each day has helped me. I think anxiety is part physical, part mental and part spiritual. It’s hard to deal with when you’re a perfectionist like I am. I’m convinced that God allowed me to go through serious physical challenges in recent years so I would learn to “let go and let God”, which takes daily practice.

    • Barb,
      It may very well be that God lets us go through these things because He wants us to gain spiritual and emotional development that we wouldn’t get if we found a quick fix. And you’re right that being perfectionistic is typically a trait of people who suffer from anxiety disorders. We want everything to be just right, at least in our minds, but the real world is much messier! Daily practices, both spiritual and mental, are a key component to recovery.

      I don’t know of any natural health doctors in my area, so I’ll probably have to rely on books and articles with ideas for natural remedies. Any ideas or things that proved effective for you?


Leave a comment

Categories