Posted by: L. E. Barnes | July 28, 2010

Inspirational Voice, Inspirational Life

Enjoy these incredibly beautiful renditions of “He Shall Feed His Flock” and “Deep River” by Marian Anderson.

If her singing can’t move you to tears, I don’t know whose singing could. Marian Anderson was a contralto who performed not only around the U.S. but in a number of other countries. Her admirers included Eleanor Roosevelt and European royalty. Famous conductor Arturo Toscanini told her, “Yours is a voice such as one hears once in a hundred years.” As a black woman living in the days of segregation, she had to deal with racism, most notably when in 1939 she was not allowed to sing at Constitution Hall in Washington, DC, solely because of her race. (Eleanor Roosevelt resigned from the Daughters of the American Revolution, who owned the hall, in protest.) Marian dealt with this and other such unfairness with a calm, noble spirit, remarking “If I were inclined to be combative, I suppose I might insist on making an issue of these things. But that is not my nature, and I always bear in mind that my mission is to leave behind me the kind of impression that will make it easier for those who follow.” She passed away in 1993.

Marian Anderson’s life and singing are truly inspirational. You can read more about her here.

Responses

  1. […] Inspirational Voice, Inspirational Life […]

  2. Beautiful. I had never heard that @ Eleanor Roosevelt. What a great story.

  3. Marian Anderson was a very classy lady who left an admirable legacy in voice and conduct. She did indeed make it easier for the likes of Leontyne Price, who is one of my favorite sopranos of the twentieth century. I always wanted to sing like her, but God didn’t give me the vocal strength to do it. If you get a chance to see her in Aida on DVD, take it. I saw her in person in the 1980s at Omaha’s Orpheum theater. She gave new meaning to the phrase “taking the stage”. In her unassuming way, so did Marian Anderson.

  4. Thanks for sharing with us


Leave a Reply

Categories

