Posted by: L. E. Barnes | July 14, 2010

Anxiety Disorders

I’ve touched on my struggles with generalized anxiety disorder (GAD) in some older posts and plan to write some more about it in the coming days. If you are one of the many people who suffer from an anxiety disorder, please know that you are not alone and that help is available–and please avail yourself of that help! GAD has plagued me all my adult life, robbing me of my mental clarity and emotional stability, and thus short circuiting just about everything I’ve tried to accomplish in life. But I’m also learning to believe in and take responsibility for my eventual recovery from this awful problem.

Here are a couple of short video clips, one that provides some basic information about anxiety disorders in general and one that discusses GAD in particular. If you have one of these disorders, have compassion on yourself–and get help! If you know someone who has an anxiety disorder, have compassion on them and be as supportive as you can. My experiences have taught me the truth of the old saying that you shouldn’t judge someone until you’ve walked a mile in their shoes. Those who have never had to deal with such a disorder can’t know what it’s like having to live with one. Frankly, it can pure hell sometimes.

As I’ve said before, I hope and pray that some kind of good can come out of my struggles with GAD. And for those who are in the same boat with me, I pray some kind of good will likewise come out of your struggles.

Responses

  1. Anxiety Disorders « Evan's Cove…

    I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

  2. […] Anxiety Disorders […]

  3. My mother suffers with anxiety disorders since her teenage years and growing up with a parent with the disorder has allowed me I believe to be a more compassionate person. I know it is difficult as I see my mother continually struggle with her disorder and like you she hopes her suffering is not in vain. I believe that these struggles can only a source of healing for many who suffer when they see your will to carry on despite the hurdles. May God continue to give you the strength to carry on and be always at you side. God Bless.

    • Thank you. I feel for your mother, as I know all too well what it’s like to suffer for years with anxiety problems. Carrying on can be difficult, but it’s all we can do–with the grace of God.

  4. Thanks for posting this. Back in my late 30s I volunteered to be in a drug test for the treatment of anxiety, but the test was halted because only 3-4 people out of the test group were benefiting from the drug. I was, unfortunately, one of those few who were benefiting and the company chose not to bring the drug to market. Needless to say, my anxiety was like an underlying beat to everything in my life and that kept on until just recently. When I was first diagnosed with fibromyalgia I remember that every morning with consciousness came tight muscles all over my body. Really, the depression, anxiety, and pain were hell. I am so grateful that God has seen fit to relieve a lot of this and I pray that some day you will be relieved also. Sometimes I think God allows us to suffer like this to strengthen us spiritually. Our fallen human nature with all its physical ills becomes an avenue to perfection in Christ. If nothing else, we develop strong wills and determination which can be directed toward Him.

    • Barb,
      I’ve tried medication once, but it was only somewhat helpful for a few months. I discontinued it and have tried things like St. John’s wort, which probably works about as well. Thanks for your prayers. Why God allows us to go through these kinds of problems is something I suspect we won’t have clear answers about in this life. You’re right that we can grow from these experiences, however unpleasant. May we both somehow benefit spritually–and perhaps in other ways–from them.

  5. My Mom who was adopted as an infant by an unnurturing aunt suffers from GAD as well. It has really been difficult for her and our family, so I understand what you’re going through. I, too, believe that suffering is redemptive when offered up to God for the salvation of souls. God bless you for relying on God’s strength to go through life and not lose faith in Him.

    • Thank you. That’s what I pray for now: God’s grace to move on with life and for something good (or even redemptive, as you say) to come out of it.

  6. P.S. I have the book, “Prescription for Natural Cures” by Balch & Stengler. I consulted a naturopathic doctor a few years ago and found the book’s recommendations to be safe, reliable and very similar to the doctor’s. I don’t know if this would help, but I looked under “Anxiety” and the recommendations were:

    1. 5-HTP – 50 to 100 mg 2-3 times a day; this is supposed to have a calming effect on the mind. Do not take in conjunction with anti-depressant or anti-anxiety medication.

    2. Calcium and Magnesium – take a combination of 500 mg calcium & 250 mg magnesium 2x daily.
    These minerals help calm the nervous system.

    Try 5-HTP first, then add in the Cal-Mag for more relief. Good luck!

    • Thanks for the information. I’ve tried 5-HTP, but it didn’t seem to help a lot (or maybe I wasn’t doing the right dosage or taking as many each day as I should have). But I’ll try the calcium and magnesium too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

