Posted by: L. E. Barnes | July 8, 2010

Buffett’s Words of Wisdom

The following is taken from Yahoo! News:

In an exclusive interview with Yahoo! News and the Huffington Post, he credited his father with teaching him how to live, and explained that all parents can make a “better human being”:

 “The power of unconditional love. I mean, there is no power on earth like unconditional love. And I think that if you offered that to your child, I mean, you’re 90 percent of the way home. There may be days when you don’t feel like it — it’s not uncritical love; that’s a different animal — but to know you can always come back, that is huge in life. That takes you a long, long way. And I would say that every parent out there that can extend that to their child at an early age, it’s going to make for a better human being.”

 

You can watch video clips of the interview here.

So, you parents out there–what do you think about Mr. Buffett’s words of wisdom?  

 

 

Responses

  1. […] Buffett’s Words of Wisdom […]

  2. Unconditional love? Yes, true! I have really been struggling to remember this when dealing with my oldest, who is 12. He is always doing dumb things – well, he is 12! A hard age! I am trying to convey to him as much as possible that even when I do no like what he does or how he behaves, I love HIM! And that will never change. It is my love for him that leads me to discipline him when needed.

    • I’m sure 12 year olds are tough to deal with. They’re transitioning out of childhood into adolescence, and therefore starting to get hormonal. I wouldn’t care to relive that time of my life! And yes, parents discipline their kids precisely because they love them–or at least that should be their motivation.


Leave a Reply

Categories

