Posted by: L. E. Barnes | June 17, 2010

Perseverance

Here is a short video by Therese Borchard, whose blog–Beyond Blue–appears on Beliefnet. Having suffered from depression for years, she discusses and gives helpful advice about getting throug life with mental and/or emotional problems. In this clip she emphasizes the importance of persevering, of just putting one foot in front of the other. As an anxiety disorder sufferer, I can vouch for what she’s saying. Sometimes just hanging in there is all I can do, and it can be extremely difficult at times. There have been moments when I’ve wanted to fuss at God over my situation, when I’ve felt that in the card game of life, God had dealt me nothing but losing hands. At the same time, however, my faith has been my life jacket keeping me afloat in the stormy seas around me. As the man in the gospel of Mark did, I too have prayed many times, “Lord, I believe. Help thou my unbelief.” As Therese points out, perseverance is probably the one thing most needed by those of us who struggle with these depression, anxiety, and other kinds of mental, emotinal, or physical health problems. (This video was made in late November of 2007, hence the references to the approach of Advent.)

And we would all do well to remember the words of Horation Spafford’s hymn “It Is Well with My Soul”:

When peace, like a river, attendeth my way,
When sorrows like sea billows roll;
Whatever my lot, Thou has taught me to say,
It is well, it is well, with my soul.

Though Satan should buffet, though trials should come,
Let this blest assurance control,
That Christ has regarded my helpless estate,
And hath shed His own blood for my soul.

For me, be it Christ, be it Christ hence to live:
If Jordan above me shall roll,
No pang shall be mine, for in death as in life
Thou wilt whisper Thy peace to my soul.

Responses

  1. […] Perseverance […]

  2. I have suffered from depression and anxiety for many years. I believe much of the time it is due to a chemical imbalance in the body. Since I have started to take certain supplements and my Natural Health doctor is working with me on hormonal imbalances, I have improved greatly. The perseverance came in to play because I refused to give up looking for an answer. My Faith helped me and now I want to help others. By no means have I conquered the chronic fatigue or fibromyalgia pain, but my thinking is clearer and I have more mental energy. That, to me, is significant victory in what is a daily battle.

    • Barb,
      Thank you for sharing about your difficulties. Because of my experiences, I have a lot of compassion for people suffering from emotional disorders. It’s really tough at times just to keep putting one foot in front of the other, but by God’s grace I believe I can persevere. As you said, it is indeed a daily battle. Sometimes just small steps are significant victories when you’re in this kind of struggle.

  3. Beautiful poem! Especially loved these lines:

    <>

    I have learned that acceptance is the key, and serenity comes after. Great reminder!

    <>

    So reassuring to remember that He died for us no matter what the condition of our souls were. Thanks for sharing! Will put it in my collection of quotes / poems to look back on.

  4. Oops – the lines somehow didn’t come out. Here they are again. The whole poem spoke to me, especially these lines:

    Whatever my lot, Thou has taught me to say,
    It is well, it is well, with my soul.

    That Christ has regarded my helpless estate,
    And hath shed His own blood for my soul.

    • Sweetmums,
      It’s a wonderful hymn, and an excellent reminder to stay faithful and patient when times get rough.


Leave a Reply

Categories

