Posted by: L. E. Barnes | May 15, 2010

“Contemporvant”

North Point Media has produced a video that satirizes many contemporary evangelical churches. It pokes fun at their quest to be “contemporary” and “relevant” (jokingly called “contemporvant” here). I couldn’t help but laugh while watching it, yet it also saddens me somewhat, as too much of it rings true. Granted, we need to be careful about stereotyping people, and I realize that plenty of evangelical Christians are very loving and sincere people who are trying their best to honor the Lord. However, having come from a charismatic evangelical background (including attending a charismatic divinity school), I still feel that the video rightly demonstrates problems with much of the music and preaching in these kinds of churches. In fact, one of my reasons for becoming Catholic was that I had grown tired of the flakiness, shallowness, and the endless pursuit of being “cool.” Frankly, I found a great deal of the music and preaching in these churches¬†to be very juvenile, as if it were a form of Christianity perpetually stuck in adolescence. Here’s the video:

One viewer commented, “Ouch. Man, this would be hilarious if it weren’t so true. A great challenge to church leaders everywhere to check motives and avoid manipulation.” Another said, “What you intended as a humorous parody is actually a tragic truth of the evolution of the Protestant Church as it follows its own devises. Missing here are the centuries of Tradition as given us by the great martyrs and fathers of the faith.”

What do you think?

Responses

  1. […] “Contemporvant” […]

  2. This is want happens when a church has to become entrepreneurial in order to attract a membership.

    • I fear that’s too true in many cases.

  3. It reminds me of the “contemporary” Masses at some parishes. How awful. As if Jesus is not enough. We need to invite our non-Catholic friends to come to church with us and help them understand a reverent, liturgically correct Mass with chant. And be sure to answer their questions.

    • I’m inclined to agree. I haven’t fathomed why so many Catholics are using contemporary evangelical music. One night at a eucharistic adoration service at my parish, that’s the kind of music they were using–arrrrrgh!

  4. I saw that video somewhere a while ago. I tend to learn toward more traditional Masses. My last parish always sang the Gloria, Sanctus, and Agnus Dei in Latin, and it was marvelous. I had to attend the LifeTeen Mass one Sunday evening after traveling, and I was definitely put off by the contemporary music. I say this as a bona fide lover of Christian music (Casting Crowns and Switchfoot are among my favorite bands) and of Matt Maher, but the music I hear on the radio is just not appropriate for Mass. (Maher is a great example: he writes music for Mass and music for singing along with, and they are NOT the same!)

    • Lindsay,
      I agree. I’ve been to one LifeTeen mass at my parish, and I really didn’t care for the contemporary music they played. “Sing-along” music is definitely different from music that is appropriate for the mass.

      Thanks for commenting!


Leave a Reply

Categories

