Posted by: L. E. Barnes | May 12, 2010

Spiritual Reading

In our mystagogia class on Sunday, we shared with each other about books that have helped enrich our spiritual lives. Here’s a list of the books, along with their authors, that were discussed:

  • Introduction to the Devout Life, St. Francis de Sales
  • Rome Sweet Home, Dr. Scott Hahn
  • The Lamb’s Supper, Dr. Scott Hahn
  • Mere Christianity, C. S. Lewis
  • Miracles, C. S. Lewis
  • The Imitation of Christ, Thomas á Kempis
  • Jesus among Other Gods, Ravi Zacharias
  • Arise from Darkness, Benedict Groeschel
  • Centering Prayer, Basil Pennington
  • Letters to Marc about Jesus, Henri Nouwen
  • Born Fundamentalist, Born again Catholic, David Currie
  • The Book of the Dun Cow, Walter Wangerin
  • The Ragamuffin Gospel, Brendan Manning
  • Jesus before Christianity, Albert Nolan
  • Seeds of Contemplation, Thomas Merton
  • Thoughts in Solitude, Thomas Merton

Then of course there were certain books of the Bible that have proven helpful during difficult times, especially the book of Job.

If you’ve read any of these, how have they impacted your own spiritual life? Or are there other books you would recommend?

Responses

  1. Hey Evan, I have read 4 of the above books, both Dr. Hahn books, the CS Lewis, Mere Christianity, and Imitation of Christ.

    Imitation of Christ is very strick teachings which I thrive on, so I tend to lean on Kempis alot.

    Also, the Psalms give me great inspiration along with St. Faustina’s diary.

    The list goes on….there are so many great Catholic writers, including GK Chesterton..Wow, I love his insight!

    Blessings!
    Ebeth

    • I’ve read a little of Imitation of Christ. I understand that it’s a popular devotional book even among Protestants. St. Faustina… I’ve never read her diary, though I probably should. Chesterton is good too. I’ve read Orthodoxy, which I enjoyed immensely. Yes, good Catholic writers abound… and so little time to read them all!

  2. […] Spiritual Reading […]

  3. Introduction to the Devout Life speaks to my heart.

    • That one is definitely on my reading list!

  4. I have read – Imitation of Christ, Rome Sweet Home ( I am a convert so really enjoyed it), Centering Prayer, Letters to Marc about Jesus, The Ragamuffin Gospel, Seeds of Contemplation (my favorite on this list), Thoughts in Solitude.
    I love Merton, especially his journals.

    • Merton is great! I’ve read “Thoughts in Solitude” and “Contemplative Prayer.” I started reading “The Seven Story Mountain,” but only got through the first few chapters. Sad that Merton met an untimely death. He certainly would have had more to contribute.


Leave a Reply

Categories

