Posted by: L. E. Barnes | April 29, 2010

Lots-O-Huggin’ Bear

Check out this adorable commercial.

Aw, it’s so cute, soft, and cuddly. What child wouldn’t want one? And does it look familiar? If you were a child of the 1980’s (such as yours truly), this ad would probably strike a chord with you. You probably saw many like it while watching cartoons. The ridiculously happy kids, the catchy little song (which has gotten stuck in my head)… And the slight distortions in the clip make it appear that the ad had to have come off an old video cassette (you do remember those, don’t you?)

So do you recognize this ad or the lovable stuffed toy it promotes? No? Good, you shouldn’t. This “ad” turns out to have been a clever viral video created by Pixar and posted on YouTube as a surreptitious way of promoting the latest addition to the Toy Story franchise, due out in theaters this June. (And no, yours truly does not plan to go see it then. I’ll wait until it come out on DVD and get it through Net Flix. Hey, I’m not paying $8 for a movie ticket!)

Anyway, I just thought I’d pass it along in case you hadn’t come across it yet. But I probably should have warned you about the risks of that jingle getting stuck in your head. I’m finding myself wanting to sing it… Arrrrrgh!

Responses

  1. I cannot remember the last time I went to a movie – so expensive!

    • Exactly. I last went to a movie back in the fall of ’08. And it was either $8 or $8.50 per person! Highway robbery, if you ask me. And of course, no sane person would ever buy popcorn or drinks at a movie theater!

  2. […] Lots-O-Huggin’ Bear (no, not about anything religious, but cute and interesting) […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

