Posted by: L. E. Barnes | April 11, 2010

Sunday Snippets–A Catholic Carnival

Be sure to check out RAnn’s blog–This, That, and the Other Thing–each Sunday for links to various Catholic blogs. Or if you’re a Catholic blogger, goes RAnn’s site and add a link to your blog!

Today, the second Sunday of Easter, is also Divine Mercy Sunday. You can read more about this special Sunday here.

Jesus, I trust in you.

The above picture is based on a vision that St. Faustina Kowalska received. According to the Polish nun, Christ instructed her to paint this image, writing underneath it “Jesus, I trust in you.”

In confession yesterday, I acknowledged that my trust in God has been weak. The night before I had started lashing out at God in frustration over some emotional and other problems that have plagued me for years. I even felt like just giving up on my spiritual life, feeling that it was all useless and that God had abandoned me. Of course, I quickly realized how foolish such thinking was and repented. My priest asked me, as penance, to say five “Glory Be’s” and to think upon the five wounds of Christ.

Keeping the faith isn’t always easy. And frankly, the Bible doesn’t depict the life of faith as an easy road. The psalmists and prophets, for instance, display both deep love for God and intense frustration with God. Religion scholar Huston Smith remarked that the biblical prophets at times take God to task for what He does or doesn’t do. But in the end, they they remained faithful.

I sometimes find myself, like the father of the demon-possessed boy in Mark 9, saying, “Lord, I believe. Help thou my unbelief.” And though I often don’t understand what God is doing with a particular situation, I nonetheless continue to affirm, “Jesus, I trust in you.” 

Let that be our prayer even when things get rough and don’t make sense.

Be blessed as we continue the Easter season.

Responses

  1. I often lash out at God and when I am done realize that he still has me right in the palm of his hand. I just wish I could remember that before the next time.

    • I know what you mean. I’m guilty of that now and then, letting my emotions carry me away before I think about what I’m doing. But it’s comforting to read in the Bible that even giants in the faith still wrestled with sin and doubt. I think God is big enough to handle our complaints, and He’s more than loving enough to forgive them.


Leave a Reply

Categories

