Posted by: L. E. Barnes | April 2, 2010

Good Friday

For the sake of His sorrowful passion, have mercy on us and on the whole world.

 
We are now into the Easter Triduum. Last night I attended our parish’s Holy Thursday mass, during which our pastor–in imitation of Christ’s actions at the Last Supper–ceremonially washed the feet of twelve members of the parish. Following the mass, the Blessed Sacrament was transferred, after being carried in a procession around the church, into a small tabernacle. The church was left open until midnight so that people could spend time in prayer before the sacrament. Another blogger I know, also a member of my parish, attended the service and wrote the following reflection on her blog:

Sitting quietly during adoration after Holy Thursday Mass tonight, a lady moved to a closer pew next to Jesus’ Tabernacle. Solemnly she gazed at the tabernacle adorned with fresh lilies, white bouquets of flowers, and candles. I’ve seen that expression before, it was at funerals where one of the closer relatives would stay near the coffin longer and seem more intimately moved with sorrow as to say something terrible has happened and the loss will be immense.

I may have had the same “funeral” expression on my face last night as I too spent time in prayer before the sacrament following the mass. At times some of my problems, especially due to my struggles with GAD, seem almost overwhelming. But it is at those times that I can take comfort in Christ’s entering into our suffering and conquering death with His resurrection, which we are soon to celebrate. Keeping on our eyes on Christ, we stay afloat. Turning our eyes toward the tempest around us, we sink. I admit it’s not always easy, however. I often find myself, like the father of the demon-possessed boy in Mark’s gospel, saying, “Lord, I believe. Help thou my unbelief.”

This afternoon our parish observed the stations of the cross outdoors, which we do every year on Good Friday. My parents came with me. It’s always a very touching observance, though–doubtless due to the pollen in the air–I was hit with sneezing fits a few times, with an especially bad one toward the end. Just call me Sneezy…

Before heading over to the parish for the stations of the cross, I prayed the Chaplet of Divine Mercy, a devotion revealed to and promoted by Polish nun Sister Faustina. Since today we remember our Lord’s passion, I thought praying the Chaplet would be a fitting way to prepare myself. Our salvation is through the One who gave Himself for us, not through our own righteousness. Thank you, Lord Jesus.

Leave a Reply

Categories

