Posted by: L. E. Barnes | December 27, 2009

Another Christmas Past

Another Christmas over.  My parents and I went to Tarboro, as I had mentioned that we would in my previous post. Contrary to what was suggested by my uncle at Thanksgiving, people did give each other gifts after all. I guess they’re all so accustomed to buying a pile of gifts every Christmas that it’s become second nature to them. But a pleasant time was had by all. Several of us watched Evan Almighty on TV. My uncle and aunt’s old tom cat, Oliver, curled up beside me on the sofa and granted me the privilige of petting him during the movie. (Just start petting him and he won’t budge!)  

Pet me, please!

We had a tasty dinner of pork loin (pork being something I rarely eat anymore), and there were so many dessert dishes that I doubt we got through half of them. I don’t know about you, but I just can’t put away the food like I could in my younger days. In fact, if I overindulge,  my stomach usually fusses me out later.

Yet each year it seems that Christmas comes and goes too quickly, and it just doesn’t have the same “zing” it did for me when I was a child. At the end of the day, I felt that it had been rather anticlimactic. Anyone got any ideas for perking things up? 🙂 

I wonder… if the Ghost of Christmas Past ever visits me as he did Scrooge, will he pick out this Christmas to replay to me? And if he did, what would be the lesson for me to take from it?

I hope your Christmas was a merry one! Pax et bonum.

Leave a Reply

Categories

