Posted by: L. E. Barnes | August 17, 2009

Peace be with you!

With this post, I embark on my blogging career.

Who am I? The most important am for me is that I am a Christian. To be more specific, I am Catholic. On Easter of 2007, I was received into the arms of the Catholic Church. Raised a charismatic evangelical, I had an active spiritual life, diligently praying and studying the Scriptures. I even attended divinity school. For several years, however, I wandered through the wastelands of skepticism and considered myself an agnostic. In His loving grace, the Lord softened my hardened heart and brought me back to a relationship with Him. And in this blog, I will write about my personal faith journey as well as the Catholic faith in general.

Further, I am a college English instructor. During my graduate studies, I worked part time as a freshman composition instructor and writing tutor. After receiving my MA in English, I spent a bit over a year in Central America teaching English.  I returned to the US and worked various clerical jobs for a couple of years at a university. However, 8 to 5 office jobs just don’t suit me at all, so I returned to teaching at the beginning of ’09 and am about to start a new semester teaching freshman composition. In fact, another reason for this blog is to help keep myself in good “writing shape.” Anyone who has worked in teaching will doubtless agree that teaching can at times be as much a ministry as being a pastor or other religious leader! So my blog will also discuss my experiences in the classroom.

Why the name “Evan’s Cove”? Well, for starters, my name is Evan! The “Cove” part came from the bantering of a friend of mine. He joked once about me starting my own TV or radio show and calling it Evan’s Cove. He said that for some reason he really liked the sound of that. I’ve come to like it too. A cove is a sheltered nook or recess in a shoreline, a place I would see as peaceful and inviting. And ideally, a blog can be a place where both the writer and readers can be at ease to express themselves and learn from one another. So welcome to the “Cove”!

Thanks for taking the time to read this! Comments are more than welcome. And to any fellow Christians who read my blog, I’d certainly appreciate your prayers!  God bless you richly!

Evan

Responses

  1. Welcome to the blogosphere, Evan! Looking forward to your future posts. Make sure you tell Esteban. He’s got a blog, too.

    • Thanks! I’ll let Esteban know and check out his blog. Pax et bonum.

  2. Way to go, Evan! Consider me a regular at Evan’s Cove. I’ve always thought your warm and amiable personality would be great in a talk show forum, so I look forward to being able to read about what’s going on with you.
    I’m also proud of your devout-ness and am always interested to hear about your spiritual journey.

    Ever yours in friendship, even from far away,
    Sean

    • Hi buddy! Thanks for stopping by. Well, this may be the closest I’ll get to a talk show forum, or maybe it’ll be the start. God only knows. I hope all is well with you and your beloved these days.


Leave a Reply

Categories

